Applied Linguistics Association of Australia Awards

The ALAA offers a range of schemes to support the development of teaching, learning and research in applied linguistics, including scholarships, prizes and conference attendance support. They are M.A.K. Halliday Scholarship, Michael Clyne Prize, Postgraduate Travel Scholarship and Penny McKay Memorial Award.

In addition, the ALAA provides The Distinguished Scholarship and Service Award (DSSA) to recognize and honour a distinguished scholar for her/his scholarship and service to the profession in general and to the ALAA in particular.

Penny McKay Memorial Award

Please submit application by 31 October 2023

The Penny McKay Memorial Award honours Penny’s contribution to research and development in second/additional language education. As a teacher, consultant, researcher, keynote speaker and professional activist, Penny McKay was a leader in language education in Australia and internationally. Working collaboratively with educators and researchers in schools, she pioneered an approach to assessing learners’ development in English as an additional language.Further information can be found on ACTA website.

The Award is jointly offered by the Applied Linguistics Association of Australia (ALAA), the Australian Council of TESOL Associations (ACTA) and the Association for Language Testing and Assessment of Australia and New Zealand (ALTAANZ).

View more details...

ALAA 3 minute Thesis Competition

Please submit video by 25 September 2023

PhD student members are invited to share their work with the broader ALAA community through our 2023 ALAA 3 minute thesis (3MT®) competition. The 3MT competition was developed by the University of Queensland and challenges students to explain their thesis to a non-specialist audience in no more than 180 seconds, and using only ONE Powerpoint slide. For the ALAA competition, applicants will initially enter a video of their presentation. Finalists will then be invited to present live at a Zoom final open to members of the public on Friday 20 October at 4pm (AEDST).  

View more details...

Keep up to date through ALAA for developments in teaching, learning, research and advocacy in Applied Linguistics.