M.A.K. Halliday Award

The MAK Halliday Prize for Outstanding Research in Applied Linguistics will be awarded to an Early Career Researcher (post-PhD) with the best peer reviewed journal article or book chapter published in 2023 with a focus on “making linguistics applied”. Submissions are welcomed from applicants working in any area of Applied Linguistics. In assessing submissions, emphasis will be placed on the originality and quality of the contribution to the field.

MAK Halliday, FAHA, who died on 15th April 2018, was a leading scholar, an inspirational figure in many fields of Linguistics, and a major influence on Applied Linguistics in Australia. Professor Halliday worked in multiple areas of linguistics, both theoretical and applied, and was especially concerned with applying the basic principles of language to the theory and practices of education. He is widely celebrated as the founder of the theory of language known as Systemic Functional Linguistics (SFL) and is the author of several highly regarded articles and monographs on topics ranging from grammar and semantics, child language development and acquisition, the function of language in education, discourse analysis, the language of science, stylistics, and natural language processing. He was a Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities.


  • ALAA members within 5 years of award of their PhD when they submit their application. The committee will also consider applications from scholars whose PhD were awarded more than 5 years ago, but whose career interruptions (or other mitigating circumstances) make them equivalent to within 5 years of PhD award.
  • Applicants must have been ALAA members for at least 6 months at the time of submission.


  • Prize money: $500
  • The winner will also be invited to present their research in an ALAA online event in 2024

Application process:

All applications should be submitted online by 20 October, and should include a pdf copy of the research paper as well as a supporting statement, as outlined on the MAK Halliday prize application form. For further information, please email Dr Solène Inceoglu (ALAA, Vice President) solene.inceoglu@anu.edu.au 

Previous winners:

2022: Dr Carly Steele (Curtin University)
2019 Dr Michael Burri (University of Wollongong)

Keep up to date through ALAA for developments in teaching, learning, research and advocacy in Applied Linguistics.